William Hilton

Old map of Hilton Head Island.

Coastal Discovery Museum.

(1617-1675) Hilton Head Island is named after Captain William Hilton, who in 1663 identified a headland near the entrance to Port Royal Sound, which he named “Hilton’s Head” after himself. The English Captain William Hilton sailed on the Adventure from Barbados to explore lands granted by King Charles II of England to the eight Lords Proprietor.